• UTC+04:00
  • market rate$1 USD = 3.67 AED


Many countries are given the option of a straightforward UAE conversion. However, if you are not eligible for a direct exchange you will have to re-sit a theory and practical driving test.

Countries eligible for licence exchange are Australia, Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hong Kong, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, USA.

Some nationalities, such as drivers from Singapore, are required to provide either English or Arabic translations of their home country driving licences and may be required to pass a knowledge test.


UAE resident
  • Aged 18 or older (if under 21, proof of parent’s permission required).
  • Driving licence from one of the countries listed. It must be valid, or within one year of the date of expiry.
  • The applicant must be a citizen of the country the licence was registered in.
  • According to the UAE government, driving licence holders from Greece, Canada, Cyprus, Japan, Poland, Singapore, South Korea and Turkey may require a translation of their driving licence from their respective consulates.
What to bring
  • Resident ID
  • Passport with residence visa (copy and original)
  • Current driving licence (original and copy)
  • Eye test certificate, available at any approved optician (Dhs.50-100)
  • 1 passport photo
  • No objection certificate (NOC) from your sponsor
  • Dhs.410 application fee


  • Visit the relevant authority for issuing licence in your emirate. 
  • Collect a driving licence application form from the authority. Wait for your name to be called.
  • Take the documents to the counter and pay the required application fee.
  • Your licence will be ready within 5-10 minutes.

The responsible transport authorities in the UAE include the Drivers Licensing Department (DLD) in Abu Dhabi, Roads and Transport Authority in Dubai, Sharjah Roads & Transport Authority, Ajman Public Transport Corporation, Fujairah Transport Corporation, Ras Al Khaimah Transport Authority, and Umm Al Quwain Municipality will be able to provide further advice.